Return to Headlines

2023 ESC19 Superintendent of the Year Selected

Dr. Xavier De La Torre Selected Superintendent of the Year



Ysleta ISD Superintendent Dr. Xavier De La Torre has been selected the 2023 ESC Region 19 Superintendent of the Year! He will represent the El Paso/Hudspeth County region at the Texas State level. Winners will be announced in September.


CLICK HERE to read more about Dr. De La Torre and his outstanding achievements.


The Texas Superintendent of the Year winner receives a $5,000 award, which will be presented at the txEDCON23, a TASA/TASB educational convention held on Sept. 29-Oct. 1 in Dallas, TX. The award program is underwritten by Balfour and sponsored by TASB, the Texas Association of School Boards. The winner also receives a ring from Balfour. The four state finalists each receive $1,000.


The most recent regional superintendent to win the Texas state title was in 2001 by Charles Hart. He was the Canutillo ISD Superintendent from 1998 until his retirement in 2005.

 #WeR19 #YsletaISD


-For information about ESC 19 or this news release, please contact:

Sandra Valladolid, ESC19 Marketing Coordinator,, 915-780-5074